Skip to content

Local resident queries

November 3, 2013

I had a call from someone earlier this week asking how to stop the delivery of plastic bags for the receipt of clothing for chairities………unfortunately nothing we can do to stop this. You have just to treat them like junk mail… chuck them away. If you wish to donate to a local charity, take your items to the local charity shop (using one of the unwanted plastic bags maybe)

Earlier today I was asked by someone what had happened to the poppy sellers……”we used to have someone come to the door every year”…….I suggested it might be that there are less volunteers to do that work nowadays. The retort was that the word “volunteer” was not in their personal lexicon, however, they did know that “one volunteer is better than three pressed men”. I’ve not heard that saying before, but rather good I thought.

No comments yet

Leave a comment